Nalanda Open University

Updated on: Feb 12, 2013
The Nalanda Open University was established in March, 1987. The University is named after the famous Nalanda University of Ancient India. The University is recognized by the Distance Education Council (DEC), Ministry of HRD, Government of India, and University Grants Commission for imparting education through distance mode.

NOU Courses Offered

Post Graduate Degree Courses
  • MA - Public Administration
  • Master of Education (MEd)
  • MA- Sociology
  • MSc - Geography
  • MA - Rural Development
  • MA - Journalism & Mass Communication
  • Master of Library & Information Science (One Year Course)
  • Master in Commerce (MCom)
  • MA - Hindi
  • MA - Magahi
  • MA - History
  • MA - Political Science
  • MA - Psychology
  • MA - Economics
  • MA - Geography
Post Graduate Diploma Courses
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Financial Management
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Yogic Studies
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Disaster Management
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Journalism & Mass Communication
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Marketing Management
Undergraduate Degree Courses
  • Bachelor of Computer Application (BCA)
  • BSc (Honours) - Physics
  • BSc (Honours) - Zoology
  • BSc (Honours) - Home Science
  • Bachelor in Library & Information Science (BLiSc)
  • BA (Honours) - Economics
  • BA (Honours) - Hindi
  • BA (Honours) - History
  • BSc (Honours) - Botany
  • BSc (Honours) - Chemistry
  • BSc (Honours) - Geography
  • BA (Honours) - Psychology
  • BA (Honours) - Sociology
  • BA (Honours) - Social Work
  • BA (Honours) - Geography
  • BSc (Honours) - Mathematics
  • BA (Honours) - Political Science
  • BA (Honours) - Tourism
  • BA (Honours) - Home Science
  • Bachelor of Commerce (BCom)
Certificate Courses
  • Certificate in Operation Theater Assistant
  • Certificate in Abolition of Child Labour
  • Certificate in Computing
  • Certificate in Floriculture Technology
  • Certificate in Food and Nutrition
  • Certificate in Library Science
  • Certificate in Clinical Dental Technique
  • Certificate in Dental and Oral Hygiene
  • Certificate in Bhojpuri Language
  • Certificate in Bio-fertilizer Production
  • Certificate in Buddhist Studies
  • Certification in ECG Technique
  • Certificate in Health and Environment
  • Certificate in Hindu Studies
  • Certificate in HIV and Family Education
  • Certificate in Laboratory Technique
  • Certificate in Medical Laboratory Technique
  • Certificate in Physiotherapy and Yoga Therapy
  • Certificate in Child and Women Rights
  • Certificate in Child Psychology and Guidance
  • Certificate in Christian Studies
  • Certificate in Disaster Management
  • Certificate in Environment Studies
  • Certificate in Sanskrit Language
  • Certificate in Magahi Language
  • Certificate in Islamic Studies
  • Certificate in Jain Studies
  • Certificate in Maithili Language
  • Certificate in Medicinal and Aromatic Plant
  • Certificate in Nutrition and Child Care
  • Certificate in Sikh Studies
  • Certificate in Soil Health Management
  • Certificate in Urdu Language
  • Certification in Home Usages of Computers
  • Certificate in Indian Constitution and Panchayati Raj
  • Certificate in Insurance Services
  • Certificate in Legal Awareness Among Women
  • Certificate in Pali Language
  • Certificate in Prakrit Language

NOU Admission Criteria

For admission in a post- graduate degree and diploma, a Bachelor's degree in the same subject is required.  For a Bachelor's degree course, passing score in the intermediate is necessary. Matriculate students are eligible for admission in certificate and intermediate courses.

The University’s prospectus has the admission form and the same can be acquired from the Sales Counters of Nalanda Open University at 3rd Floor of Biscomaun Bhawan, Patna or from any of University’s study centers on payment of Rs 250 in the form of Bank Draft drawn in favour of the Nalanda Open University payable at Patna.
  • For Eligibility Criteria and exhaustive information related to admissions, Click Here
  • For important admission notifications, Click Here

NOU Schools of Studies

  • School of Computer and Information Sciences
  • School of Economics, Commerce and Management
  • School of Health and Environmental Sciences
  • School of Indian and Foreign Languages
  • School of Indology
  • School of Journalism and Mass Communication
  • School of Teacher's Education
  • School of Library and Information Science
  • School of Pure and Agricultural Sciences
  • School of Social Sciences

NOU Study Centres

  • S.S. College, Aurangabad
  • K.K.M. College, Jamui
  • A.N. S. College, Barh
  • S.S. College, Jehanabad
  • Co-operative College, Begusarai
  • K.B. Jha College, Katihar
  • M.J.K. College, Bettiah
  • M. J. M. College, Katihar
  • S.B.P. College, Bhabhua
  • Mahila College, Khagaria
  • T.N.B. College, Bhagalpur
  • Parvati Vigyan College, Madhepura
  • Nalanda College, Biharsharif
  • M.S. College, Motihari
  • Bokaro Steel City College, Bokaro
  • R.D. & D.J. College, Munger
  • M.V. College, Buxar
  • R.M. Loihia College, Muzffarpur
  • Jagdam College, Chapra
  • K.K.M. College, Pakur
  • M.M.R. Shankar Mahavidyalaya, Darbhanga
  • Patna College, Patna
  • Deoghar College, Deoghar
  • Purnea College, Purnea
  • P.K. Rai Memorial College, Dhanbad
  • M.L.T. College, Saharsa
  • A.M. College, Gaya
  • S. College, Sasaram.
  • Gopalganj College, Gopalganj
  • D.A.V. College, Siwan
  • Markham College, Hazaribagh
  • Ranchi Women’s College, Ranchi
  • A.B.M. College, Jamshedpur
For more information on the NOU Study Centres, Click Here

NOU Contact Details

2nd/3rd Floor
Biscomaun Bhawan
Gandhi Maidan
Patna 800 001, BIHAR.
Email:[email protected]
Subscribe to our newsletter

Learn all about Bihar
Explore our interactive map!